letter to a friend

letter to Celina
 
Hiya Lil Dragon!
When I catch up on facebook etc- reminds me of you too. Nah, I find it hard to keep in contact-. feel intrusive as we dont keep in touch that much, but give me a chance, and I will try to catch you up…

I have "three-1/2 teenagers"…. Alexander nearly finished 2ndry- 8 months to go, driving and voting in july, then the Gap Year- Europe…. Fraser is year 9 and randy as all get out- I really have to keep him tied down nearly!? and the girls will be 10 in March- see? Four teenagers…

Hot here today- nealy 40°C the other day!
My grapes- "Tone’s Portable Vineyard"- are coming along really well, I made 7 bottle last year, and hope to make a dozen (!?!) maybe this year- as have a good Shiraz crop and a a bit of Pinot Noir coming along too, finally (4 years)

I am delivering groceries around town…$200/wk- a big comedown from the nearly G$7/mnth only 8 years ago, but LESS stressful I tell you- I really do not think that drill rig life is me anymore unless it is just basic geology and not too much reporting upwards or political- I dont miss that. But I deep gaze navel wise- not depressed but trying to be realistic about chances and achieving a better income.

But want to keep on studying too, I want to take on some more IT courses with the expectation that some businesses around here can put up with a Jack-of-anything and can-do or stuff it up trying anyway.
Maybe- may try a DipEd to teach sciences, we’ll see.

It must be great to be able to just take off and go to see the Maya- (your facebook reference), there is so much I want to do too- that’s one of them. Your girl looks happy and healthy, is a sister on the way?

My little sister is 28 next month- her fiance and her have finally bought into the mortgage game, so expect little feet sounds in the next few years near Geelong. My other sibs and kids are all good too, I have 10 neic/nephs now, Xmas cards were only given If I Saw You, likewise with old rig friends- now I am getting to be chaep as well as grumpy and old. bugrit all…

anyway- hope that catches you up with a bit-
good on you, and cheers
Tony

About tone

Widowed exRigPigGeo 50yr old dad of 4 'teens', is doin' job raisin' kids, misses a lot of things. Family (close and extended) and Friends - an important part in our of life. Likes gadgets, speedsailing, reading (SF), geology/archeology, maps. Coffee monster- burnt out one espresso maker too many. Have to have plenty spare "moccona" in cupboard. Things I miss- Tarn. The rig life and income. A lot of sailing. Tarn.
This entry was posted in Tone-in-oz, Just Doing It Anyway and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

