The car. DIY

I have a nice car. Or had.

Poor thing has been through wire for me.  Literally. I was so drunk once that I fretted about my new friends and an imminent breakup. I got out of bed and drove out to make sure thay were all okay. They were. Lucky them. So I backed off and the car went through some wire fencing, a stupid thing since well paid for.

Anyway, back to the point. The car. My brother worked in the factory that made it and he was in charge I think of the paint shop. My car was double dipped. What a brother! Sound proofing was upgraded too.

Anyway, I am not that great at parking the huge bastard of  a thing, and there are dents all around it, one from a tree hidden behind a pillar,  rear-light assembly’s cracked because of a light-pole behind a pillar. And a scratch from a  low and plant camouflaged garden gutter.

Poor car.

Anyway, as I was on a bout the DIY thing the other day, I just remembered some more money saving I made. The rear wiper motor had shot itself, being lifted up and slammed shut quite a few times a day now, and  the wee little screws holding it together loosened, so it dissembled and the screws rattled, and it stopped working.

Being winter, a wagon needs a rear wiper working. The trouble was the cost. A couple hundred dollars! P@@@ off.

Wait for a call from the wreckers. Wait. Wait. Finally, “Remember me?”

“yep, sorry, nothing”
“bugger”

Next call next town; “Have you got what I want?”

“Yep, visa card me and you can bolt it on after the mail tomorrow”

So the next day after school, I got Fraz to help me replace the broken wiper motor.

Now just have to figure where the motor coolant is leaking, and whether that it is the water pump o-ring and that needs an expert or just DIY.

About tone

Widowed exRigPigGeo 50yr old dad of 4 'teens', is doin' job raisin' kids, misses a lot of things. Family (close and extended) and Friends - an important part in our of life. Likes gadgets, speedsailing, reading (SF), geology/archeology, maps. Coffee monster- burnt out one espresso maker too many. Have to have plenty spare "moccona" in cupboard. Things I miss- Tarn. The rig life and income. A lot of sailing. Tarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

