Fitness. Wot?

postaday2011

This is an effort to post every day… So will be as inoffensive as possible, hopefully a reminder that lifes’ pratfalls are pratfalls, that I am indeed lucky to have a great family, that pratfalls can bring a smile or wry grin to all.

So. After the other day on/in the water*, I realise that besides looking after the kids/cars/house/bank accounts/bills/working or stooging around through the web, that I need to get some upper arm strength. And better general fitness.

In other words, get back steel tendoned forearms, bulging biceps and a six-pack. All so I can lift the dang sail out of the water after falling in on a muffed gybe (jibe) and then the gentle breeze can then do its job of catapulting me up past the other sailors. Not catapulting!- That’s a bad choice of words really and a bad predicament- ask my ribs from that trick two years ago!
I mean- SPEEDING past everyone else- who are just slogging through the water, hahahha.

But I will need a new job as the newer equipment is a tad dear at the mo, unless 2nd hand stuff appears. However- I do have the measuring device(data logger gps), some good-ish sailing gear (older than ten years) and a roomy van for transport and camping!

So I need to get fitter. Because I like either flat water and a nice brisk breeze from the south west over Shallow Inlet, Victoria.

circa 2001

Or the gently well spaced swell of the northern shores of Maui and its warm cross winds for a bit of jumping and wave-sailing.PS- that’s not ME- it’s Robbie Naish at Jaws.

*When I was eleven to fourteen, I was in a group that met every Friday night. This has left me with great memories. There was a game of In the River/On the bank/On the River/In the Bank. The leader of the game rang out one of four phrases- and the game was to not be left In The Bank or On the River. Imagine twenty or thirty kids jumping up onto bench seats and down to a wooden floor of a hall, located on the beach. As quickly as possible or with a “On the (pause)….”. The winner was the last one left who got it all right. And got a lolly ( or a sweet).

About tone

Widowed exRigPigGeo 50yr old dad of 4 'teens', is doin' job raisin' kids, misses a lot of things. Family (close and extended) and Friends - an important part in our of life. Likes gadgets, speedsailing, reading (SF), geology/archeology, maps. Coffee monster- burnt out one espresso maker too many. Have to have plenty spare "moccona" in cupboard. Things I miss- Tarn. The rig life and income. A lot of sailing. Tarn.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fitness. Wot?

  1. buy vpn says:

    My partner and I certainly taking advantage of just about every single little piece of it and, I have this information saved to check out out brand-new things you will post to your blog.

Leave a Reply

