Star gatching, comet catching, shower watching


Comet from my backyard 2007

I finally bought a telescope for 89 bucks- so it aint grand.

Before that I just used what ever I could lay my hands on,

My friend Harry once had a telescope to use, and out in the boondocks at his place late one might, I set it up, and found Jupiter and the moons. Geesuz, I was proud

It was the first thing I wanted to find with my little cheapo, besides showing the kids the craters of the moon.

I wonder if anyone remembers the comet over the summer of 2007? I was alerted to it by someone on the radio, so one night, I thought the trusty new digital camera might be able to catch it from the backyard. I wish I had been out to Harry’s in the boondocks now, but hey.

Before Zack was off to The Big Smoke, one night mid summer 2011, there were some meteor shower activity, and I hauled him out to catch some shooting stars- about three or four…

So here’s my contribution as a science grad to civilisation… from Gippsland Victoria.

Moon off shore, 2001

Eclipse December 2002

Wary Assistant

Wary Assistant

Image from pinhole in cardboard cast onto paper screen.

Comet January 2007

About tone

Widowed exRigPigGeo 50yr old dad of 4 'teens', is doin' job raisin' kids, misses a lot of things. Family (close and extended) and Friends - an important part in our of life. Likes gadgets, speedsailing, reading (SF), geology/archeology, maps. Coffee monster- burnt out one espresso maker too many. Have to have plenty spare "moccona" in cupboard. Things I miss- Tarn. The rig life and income. A lot of sailing. Tarn.
This entry was posted in Tone-in-oz, Just Doing It Anyway and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

