To go… wan em?

After 25 years, some things have to go, don’t they? My dad said that there was a lot of stuff out there… The old tv, for instance, we got Our 1st TV off my old boss cos he was packed back to Pommyland or Singers. It was used up to about 4 years ago, had been repaired especially by a local sparky 8 yrs ago using old specs he had to BUY out of the States, so there is a bit of emotional attachment and so on…


The remote had a lot of use in that time, the battery lid was lost sometime in the 90’s… It had been cared for by Tarn’s BF ever, Hels, while we in Aber-bludie-deen for a year. Their bedroom spare…

Son#1 managed to scratch the screen when he was only two or three with I DO NOT KNOW WHAT! Must have been before he knew how to operate the remote- you can only watch so much Wiggles…

So the veranda is getting full of all my old crap. People have been telling me to get rid of all the old shite. What, before I turn into a hoarder? Starting to look like a skip may be needed, not sure a “grah-je sale” would work…

Two old sandwich toasters, kettles, perfectly good microwave, thats rusty from the inside where the wheels go round. The lounge/sofas that TArn bought with one of her first pay packets- I since recovered in the shed/alcoholery with the use of an old Singer sewing machine, my first and last try at that, I tell you!

 

 

These are collectable. From the kids birthday parties at a local bowling alley when they were in early primary school. It has been since bowled over for housing. Hahahah, omg. Oops, the gels have reclaimed theirs, bugger.

The LCD PC screens are 6 years old and are to be TOSSED. NBG.

There is an old air-con there too, a friend could not bear to chuck it, and other baby crap I can’t be bothered to clean up to even give away. And a LARGE aquarium I got el cheapo from the tip, includes gravel, rock and filter.

A pair of large size roof racks that don;t for on newer cars OR vans… Some old sailboard sails and kit, shrunken wet-suits.

I know people hoard. I don’t think I do, it’s just laziness or something, all the junk around there. And my old man also said once,  to keep good pieces of wood. Guess what? I have a lot. Well, a trailer full I suppose. To build a wine bottle rack – yeah- that is what it’s for! Goes with all the boxes of shite in the alcoholery doin nuthin…

Memories? The old sofas have been through a lot. The toaster has been with us since I don’t know when but is definitly sticky, not non-stick. I see a lot of spent money doing nothing, worth nothing, but some of it is okay. But I have updated/upgraded, but I cannot let go the old.

And really, no-one I know has said- Hey, you using that?

Now I am closer to trashing it all, thanks Blog.

 

About tone

Widowed exRigPigGeo 50yr old dad of 4 'teens', is doin' job raisin' kids, misses a lot of things. Family (close and extended) and Friends - an important part in our of life. Likes gadgets, speedsailing, reading (SF), geology/archeology, maps. Coffee monster- burnt out one espresso maker too many. Have to have plenty spare "moccona" in cupboard. Things I miss- Tarn. The rig life and income. A lot of sailing. Tarn.
This entry was posted in Tone-in-oz, Just Doing It Anyway and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

