cravings or not?

Apart from trying to find some real reasoning why we need the carbon tax and the  rants lately obscuring what ever is going on, I have tried to rationalise why I want to have a cigarette.

The first intake- YUK, tar and stale.

And the second, yuk, why?

Sip of coffee to swill the taste around and down.

And the at the end, Flick over shoulder to butt cemetary- the big ashtray, the lawn. Sad.

So I keep saying to myself- the goverment lets people smoke, and pays for it too, even though It Knows the industries only product can kill people…

On the radio [and probably not TV though], a BAT* spokesman whinges and complains about plain packaging. Or unhealthy pictures displaying after effects of the habit.

It may affect sales. And copyright. True!

What the? Oh, poor dears, the shareholders must be coughing their lungs out at the outrageous and un-democratic ideas espoused by the ranting unwashed barbarians, nearly at the gates..

There was an acknowledgment that the product Can Be Fatal…

Whoa there boyo! Really really smooth talker. Made me instantly dislike him.

Ah then, if it is known to be a killer, then why the hell is it STILL available.

I cannot drive a car down the road on any side, or give, no wait, I am ranting again.

Cravings. I think with the taste and smell not turning me on, it should be enough to stop, or give it up, but for some non rational reasons, I will take it up at the drop of a hat. Not sure about it being cool, but that I can. If I am not happy, I take it back up.

But sixty buckaroonies a month. For roll your own. With filters too.

Some people go through TWO packs of the crappiest cheapest ciggies at up to fifteen bucks each. Get up through the night to puff. Somewhere in there is a statement- is it;

  • Cool To Curl Smoke Through The Air?
  • Control Of Fire?

Och, I don’t know. The headaches I used to attribute to chronically overdrinking was associated with huge dry nasal blockages too.

Still get the aches not smoking too, but that’s just another fing, eh?

So one week or so later, in a cigar box,  I still have scraps of tobacco in a pouch with a couple of filters and two lighters, but no papers… With a pouch of sealed chewing tobacco Louis gave me in 2002!

I think the Want is slowly dissapating(?), when I think of the awful taste. Smell. Money.

Cos I really do not get a Kick Out of  lungful of smoke! A slight dizziness that passes after a minute as Something gets to the brain, like the first for the day only, but Nothing Else. And then I would have one each coffee break, before dinner, after dinner, a few for the evening…

A habit, or chasing a non existent Hit like marywanna an’ heroins’ sposed to give?

What are BAT et al and Goverments around the world really supporting? Is it a Soyalent Green  scenario– Money In for a Small Cost. An exercise in cost to benefit ratios for the planet? Not futility- the profit margins for the producers must be fantastic. For the Tax Office too, great, keeps the health department going. Trying to keep the population down maybe- joking. The terrible pictures placed on the product containers have NOT done anything in my opinion, or the product would have sunk out of sight. Like anti speeding TV ads or signs, people can overlook the obvious. Obviously, Mr Obvious! What about making it a feely picture, the rotten lungs, the missing lips, embossed like on a biscuit tin?

What is needed is some bright young thing to gene-gineer a tobacco plant mutation that cancels out the so called product the companies are trying to exploit. Might help.

Off-shore Honkers, I was surprised at the haze out there. Having not lived there myself thousands of years ago, was it any different? Was it normal to see the sun as a orangey yellow circle rather than a blinding light? Cannot be a subtropical phenomena.

I am pretty sure it was due to several millions of in-efficient cooking/heaters, and millions of smokers. Factoids: one, two, three. China is pretty sad.

Factoids cos governments won’t/can’t/don’t acknowledge reality… Lobbyists?

I think it could be a better world all round if the idea of smoking being good was just gone.

*British and American Tobacco Company

About tone

Widowed exRigPigGeo 50yr old dad of 4 'teens', is doin' job raisin' kids, misses a lot of things. Family (close and extended) and Friends - an important part in our of life. Likes gadgets, speedsailing, reading (SF), geology/archeology, maps. Coffee monster- burnt out one espresso maker too many. Have to have plenty spare "moccona" in cupboard. Things I miss- Tarn. The rig life and income. A lot of sailing. Tarn.
This entry was posted in Tone-in-oz, Just Doing It Anyway and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

