Next Door Doggies and a Fence

Bow Wow Bow Wow.

AD INFINITUM. UNTIL…

Meeting the new Neighbors, and how not to… For some time now, there has been a new sensation living next door to us. Earlier in the year, new people moved in next door, with a couple  kids and two BOW WOW BOW WOW little fuglie doggies. You know what I mean? I would like to say that my first thoughts was “I wonder if they need some sugar?” But I did not act on that thought- is it too old fashioned, or these days, “ya jus don doit”?  They might be axe murderers. They might think ya jus bein’ nosey. And the dogs… I don’t think I like dogs that much, cats are better and cleaner. Unless they miss the kitty litter… When the gels are outside during the day playing, sometimes they go around the corner to the plum tree side, the neighbors side… BOW WOW BOW WOW ! Any activity in the yard. BOW WOW BOW WOW!

I usually put the wheelie bins [trash cans on wheels] out late at night for collection the next morning, say, late evening or really late, like 1am, or even later, because I am paranoid about putting them out late now (Thanks Tarn!). I will bolt out of a warm bed in my pj’s to roll out either one or two- might be recycling night see. Well! The two little smellie fuglie next door  dogggies let EVERYBODY know that there is someone on the other side of their fence, moving about… BOW WOW BOW WOW!

One day in early Autumn, I had chance to say hello to the newish [by now] neighbors and finally introducing ourselves and as I was going, I said to the lady “Boy, your dogs are sure excitable, are they not? I have a trick that may calm them down” and she said, “Oh, what?” and I was about to say, shoot em, but then thought that saying “SPRAY them with water?” might sound better… There was no real reply to that and I sheepishly fled the scene.

Around about Easter, I considered my situation, RE Dogs, Loud…. The doggies were getting noisome for no reason after all this time when ever anyone went out our back door or walked into the backyard even. I mean, we moved here before they did! And it looked like they did not want to do anything about the little thunderstorms. No-one could see me spray them with the garden hose could they? Nah.

So one night, doing the bin thing, off they went. “Ah ha!” I said to myself, and grabbed the garden hose with the trigger spray on JET, and gave them a tickle through the crack in the fence! Hey, did not shut them up a lot, but they ran for mummy, whingeing all the way home! Away from my back door area, at last.

This week, I thought I would do it properly. Every time I left the house and they started a commotion, I would grab the garden hose and sprinkle them with a SHOWER over the fence, or JET through the fence cracks, and it seems to have worked.  Three days in a row, whenever the doggies started the barking, SPIT SHHHTS through the fence or showered over the top.

It’s a bit quieter now, but a week is not long enough. And I fear that our local un-neighborly ALARM dogs may not be ALARMING enough if real baddies should be sniffing around. Bugger.  Should I ask to mind them for her and get to know them better? Nah…

If you want a quick good read, I found some stories I read as a kid and every now and then  since, by Henry Lawson. They should out a smile on ya face!

Two Dogs and a Fence

The Loaded Dog

About tone

Widowed exRigPigGeo 50yr old dad of 4 'teens', is doin' job raisin' kids, misses a lot of things. Family (close and extended) and Friends - an important part in our of life. Likes gadgets, speedsailing, reading (SF), geology/archeology, maps. Coffee monster- burnt out one espresso maker too many. Have to have plenty spare "moccona" in cupboard. Things I miss- Tarn. The rig life and income. A lot of sailing. Tarn.
This entry was posted in Tone-in-oz, Just Doing It Anyway and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

