A Jones Wannabe or Toad of Toad Hall?

That’s What I Want

And What I should not have

My brother has a new TV. A new 3D LED LCD that fills the room. With a 3D BluRey player and a new amp for the surround sound. What a way to fill a Boys Own Room. Video, internet, sound… Of course he works his skinny little ass off so he and his little fambli can enjoy the perks of living in a Big Smokey Town! I said I am turning into a Jones wannabe. As in, keeping up with the Jones’. The latest tech or house or car, the consummate consumerist. Must have, looks so good!

Since then, I want one. I have annoyed the local TV shops and discounters. Searched the net for a price like his. One TV was two thirds the usual price, but. Obsolete TVs just do not interest me if they have to have upgrades to match My Bro’s system! I want the bells and whistles! For cheap too!

My Bro is a real bugger at shopping, stooging the shop assistants until they sweat. especially when they see that he has a desire, money, shopping list, many addresses and a list of cost quotes! They do not see the fanaticism, the raw power and abilities of the…. Bargain Hunter!

They really must quake in their boots when they see him come in because he will simply say, “Hi. Can you match… THIS?”, and the prey start to stutter and offer excuses while he stalks them.

After seeing their boss, they stumble back and say, that they really cannot match the oppositions price, so My Bro starts to turn away saying that ah well,  he will go back to the last place, and the shop guys run after him, almost tackle him to the ground to keep him in the shop, kneeling, pleading, they surrender to the inevitable crying, “OKAY OKAY we really really do want YOUR MONEY! Please Please!”

If you live in the Big Smoke, tightening the screw on the retailer is pretty easy. Or it is for My Bro anyway.

Us rural shoppers have to deal with Big Waits For Wanted Goods, if we even know where to buy the stuff from! “Yeah, thanks for the money, drop in next week, [Sucker, hehehehe.]” Last few days I  have hit the Net to see what I can do. Could get a better price, even with shipping the goods, but I keep sayingDo I Really Need IT? The retailers even have catalogues that do not give a clear picture to suck you into see the stuff, but have to order what You Really Want AND Do Not Need

The kids are saying NO. Can you believe that? No? But I really want a BIG screen…

About tone

Widowed exRigPigGeo 50yr old dad of 4 'teens', is doin' job raisin' kids, misses a lot of things. Family (close and extended) and Friends - an important part in our of life. Likes gadgets, speedsailing, reading (SF), geology/archeology, maps. Coffee monster- burnt out one espresso maker too many. Have to have plenty spare "moccona" in cupboard. Things I miss- Tarn. The rig life and income. A lot of sailing. Tarn.
This entry was posted in Tone-in-oz, Just Doing It Anyway and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

