The Oilpatch

Oilpatch Reality TV shows: Canada, Texas

Free to air in Oz

I do like the oil rig reality shows. But it’s a bit hard to watch these new shows that have appeared on Ozzie TV without thinking of what I have lost on two counts.

One is the income, the other is supporting the family with that income.  Seeing these guys on the TV- I think I still love the patch. What is an amazing co-incidence is that a few months ago, I joined LinkedIn and started renewing old oil-patch friendships going way back.

These reality TV shows of newbies and old hands working their guts out on the bloody freezing cold of the winter in the Arctic or the humid and hot western summer Texas plains, brought back heaps of memories of all the places I had worked and people I had worked with; the good, the bad, the ugly, the beauties and the machines, the land and the ocean.

What is good and frightening is that I understand all that is going on around those three oilrigs- the technical three letter acronyms, the hardships, the problems, the achievements, the bloody amazing technology and machines that hand over the black gold, that precious gas.

It was the same last year watching the offshore blowout tragedy in The Gulf of Mexico.

Just like getting back on the horse, I had not lost all my know how of the ‘patch being a househusband/father/mother!

I keep telling myself that I could back into it! In a few more years anyway. Once the gels finish secondary school. A past partner would never have liked me going off for up to four weeks at a time! Compared to Tarnia, who I think secretly relished being the stay at home Mom, in charge and making all the household descisions while I was just the “money cow”!

Those poor bstds on the rigs north of the Arctic Circle, wow. Or northern BC.  Cold man. The North Sea was cold too, but never had blizzards!

I am not a greenie or what is opposite of that.

About tone

Widowed exRigPigGeo 50yr old dad of 4 'teens', is doin' job raisin' kids, misses a lot of things. Family (close and extended) and Friends - an important part in our of life. Likes gadgets, speedsailing, reading (SF), geology/archeology, maps. Coffee monster- burnt out one espresso maker too many. Have to have plenty spare "moccona" in cupboard. Things I miss- Tarn. The rig life and income. A lot of sailing. Tarn.
This entry was posted in Geology, linkedin, Tone-in-oz, Just Doing It Anyway and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

