What’s the world…

Coming to?

Allowing?

The whinge:

Just not getting it. “show a list of more job applications” on top of the family stuff AND a job here and there. Well, if the gels were older, I’d probably just pop off to an oil rig as some tech or supervisor for an extra grand or so a week, but I cannot. Six years maybe. I like to do mostly everything myself for myself if I can.

Would a better job ever be available to me now? Here? Don’t know. Move to the big smoke? Risky. Get another mortgage? HAHAHA, good try, but bet I would not get one of them!

I want to do a IT course, three days a week. But doing it will leave me short I think, on running the family budget and the kids and the family taxi, never mind trying to find extra time and money for doing something for myself, if I leave my little delivery service.

With less than two weeks to decide, I have to start thinking outside the box. Which I believe is a favourite quirk I have anyway. Juggling. Sorting. Will I still be able to do both? Hmm, dunno. And who wants to employ a grey haired off-humoured heavy-responsibility-avoiding smarty pants anyway? Chicken and egg…

The rant:

The media is spreading the nasty rumours of even more people no longer needed in blue or white collar jobs around the country, maybe close to home as well, so I am not in a good humour for “find another job” from the government or people. If new technology reduces the effort to produce, maybe the cashed up should cut their hours and share the work? You really cannot spend millions of bucks a year on just a few daily meals and transport and entertainment. And you can not spend it when you’re dead. “Improve the Productivity”- a nasty new-speak or PC word- like how do they really think they can extract blood from a stone? Ah- ponzi schemes- Low-doc loans… Wall Street predators and their cuzinz downtown everywhere with their lobbyists hounding “your” local elected government representative [hahah, sure] for industry protection… Here, the government is subsidising locally manufactured cars! What about just making them last longer, and cost more? Or is it just going to make us want to be paid more- a spiraling problem…

Erk… I could go on and on…

About tone

Widowed exRigPigGeo 50yr old dad of 4 'teens', is doin' job raisin' kids, misses a lot of things. Family (close and extended) and Friends - an important part in our of life. Likes gadgets, speedsailing, reading (SF), geology/archeology, maps. Coffee monster- burnt out one espresso maker too many. Have to have plenty spare "moccona" in cupboard. Things I miss- Tarn. The rig life and income. A lot of sailing. Tarn.
This entry was posted in Tone-in-oz, Just Doing It Anyway and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

