The Word- Inevitable, and composites

What Is Inevitable

A type of Invite?

I could never see why ‘inevitable‘ was pronounced as it was and not like ‘Invite‘. What sort of thinking is that? Took me years to get over it. Word play. I used to pronounce it as ‘in-veet-able’ too.

Then lately,well maybe the last ten years then, a lot of the books or magasines I have read have ‘inevitable’ in it. More than Once. Sometimes so many times, it should have been in the title. Like the word ‘The’. You know?

Anyway, since last weekend I have got a chance to use ‘inevitable’ myself more than once.

We had stayed at my brothers place for Easter in The Big Smoke and catch up with Son#1. Not the usual plan.

It was inevitable that the wind finally blew in, after three calm days,and my brother wanted to take advantage of it by this last day too. Wind strength was enough for us to leave the kids at home and just go for a ‘short’  windsurfing/wavesailing session on the bay (level of fitness required- a lot).

The picture below was taken a few days before hand, where we went to in the end. Spot the kids. The wind had been a northerly that day, a nice velocity but up and down, I nearly wanted to go out, but the parking was too expensive and I was not ready. Excuses, excuses, I know.

On Easter Monday, we rigged up to go out for a blast in a westerly, needing 4.5m sails. About. But I had some trouble with my rig. On the water for less than five minutes on the choppy water the top sail strap undid on the first port jibe. Inevitably I had to struggle ashore through the white-water laundry machine that had some roughness (rocky) attached to the sea bottom, unfortunately. But that was okay. I left behind a rigging piece before I got out, bugger it, but did not lose any other of the good borrowed equipment. Another story.

The idea was not mine to sail the choppy sea, I had pressured myself to please my bro. And I had brought down the wrong sailing gear. Ah well. Simon arrived where I had got ashore, and was wondering why he had not seen me… We broke down the rig and I carried the sail and mast and boom back to the vehicle to re-rig more gear… a five hundred yards away, and then stupidly got into a jog to fetch the sailboard back. In bare feet. On concrete.

The inevitableness of it all is laid bare once we got home- a few steps and a stab of pain hobbled me instantly as I was packing the car for the run home– I had buggered up the right knee joint. The cartilage might have become separated a wee bit, a corner, like it had with the left knee a few years ago, and it is a shock when that little bit of frayed medium tissue (not too hard, not soft, but…) catches something else on flexing. And all the rest of my stuff was upstairs too- I could not do but step one stair at a time not bending the leg. It wanted to lock up. Curses- and it had me wondering [for the last three days too] how it had happened. Marvined by weak fitness. Walked splayed footed to reduce the inevitable stabbing pain. How- no knocks, bumps, twists?

Today- it figured- The ‘little jog back’…

About tone

Widowed exRigPigGeo 50yr old dad of 4 'teens', is doin' job raisin' kids, misses a lot of things. Family (close and extended) and Friends - an important part in our of life. Likes gadgets, speedsailing, reading (SF), geology/archeology, maps. Coffee monster- burnt out one espresso maker too many. Have to have plenty spare "moccona" in cupboard. Things I miss- Tarn. The rig life and income. A lot of sailing. Tarn.
This entry was posted in Word play and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Word- Inevitable, and composites

  1. Claudine says:

    i love this.

Leave a Reply

