Stop Or I will say Stop Again

Stop Or I will say Stop Again

Stop, Go, Give way, slow down, OOOOPPS a speed bump!?

Whether you know or not, but now you do, I gave up a oilpatch job for the kids, and now drive a van around town doing home deliveries [anything!] and it occurs to me “Stop Or I will say Stop Again” has to be used down in the Main Street traffic soon. By some enforcer. Or even anywhere. A can of mace sprayed on idiot’s cars won’t stop idiots being idiots [unless the soft top is down…], so I may have to carry a can of spray paint or permanent marking pen so that the owners know they are marked as idiot drivers.

Or- what about a special INVISBLE but RADAR reflective paint [as a spray can, pocket sized, like, who wants to carry a paint brush and solvent] to mark the idiot’s  cars. Or special RFIDs that you can secretly put on an idiots car. You will be easily Warned After you buy my special black box that detects these idiots from a block away… Of course I am biased. To me, every other driver is an idiot anyway… Maybe I better get off the road too.

My story is: I was waiting recently on a corner in the centre of town on the main shopping strip.

It used to be a car free people friendly mall instead of a conventional street intersection. Almost could have been a city square. IMhO that is. Personally, I do not know how long the Mall was there before it was ruined, but I like the idea of getting out for a walk. If you reference the map image, you will notice there is plenty of parking spaces elsewhere anyway. You can see the mall as the reddish bricked area, with the concrete lane through it, at Cunningham and Raymond St. The speed limit is almost a FINE PRINT type of sign.

However the local chamber of commerce Or maybe the shire council must have thought [ahh, committee-think?] that people need no exercise these days or a public place to gather, and should be able to park their cars almost at the shop door where they want to spend some money.

look what they did to our mall, put a street thru it! @@#$!!

A “SLOW” two way curvy lane around the clock tower through this “mall” was constructed a few years ago.  Straight through, north to south and vice versa, one exit to the east. The speed limit is a fast walking pace for about 100 yards/meters, okay? With two or three speed bumps. Signs display that “pedestrians have right of way”- that is, all vehicles must Stop for people crossing this mangled up mall. 

But does Wellington Shire enforce this? IMO, I do not think so. If you park at a school zone in one place for longer than two minutes- WATCH OUT, Wellington Shire Rangers will get you for $59… Weird. But an all day busy place- think of the income from the Mangled Mall. The governments’s other “traffic control people” have set up a “Safety+SpeedTrap” camera at one highway stop-lighted intersection, mainly to replace income tax I think.

As I was waiting, I got worried

Yeah right! I was watching the traffic while reading the paper, waiting for a ride, not crossing the roadway. But the cars that did not keep to a fast walking pace or under [10kmh/6mph] and OR did not stop for people crossing astounded me. Percentage wise- well, hang on, I was not there to count man! But… Wow, the DisRespect.

I am not really a stickler for rules, but here, the traffic should follow the rules, or some old person or toddler is gunna get hurt. I mean it. Cars, vans, wagons, utes- a lot of them never travelled slowly enough in my opinion, showing complete disregard or respect for the rules. One hundred meters. Less than a minute. Just pisses me off they cannot slow down.

In the End

Too many idiots with no bloody patience! These days you cannot yell out “Slow down mate!” or even “Stop Or I will say Stop Again“. It will fall on deaf ears or a get a road rage incident, or with the Greatest Contempt just a finger raised in your General Direction Indicating A Specific Self Bodily Interaction

PS

If you ever want to see and hear magpies trilling /chorusing[?] and/or teaching their young how to scrounge hot chips off the stoopid bipeds, visit the mall some day, it’s enjoyable and the kids love it.

About tone

Widowed exRigPigGeo 50yr old dad of 4 'teens', is doin' job raisin' kids, misses a lot of things. Family (close and extended) and Friends - an important part in our of life. Likes gadgets, speedsailing, reading (SF), geology/archeology, maps. Coffee monster- burnt out one espresso maker too many. Have to have plenty spare "moccona" in cupboard. Things I miss- Tarn. The rig life and income. A lot of sailing. Tarn.
This entry was posted in Rant and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

