Hard day at the office

Well, not Hard at the ‘office’ as such

Wednesday, took my time, the forecast was a good breeze at Sandy Point. I took off about 10am as the van was ready for … for.. well , work? And a speed sail setup at Sandy Point. I thought. Arrive 12am There, it was blowing it’s tits off off from the east. Oh no. The wrong sails. Only big uns. Oh well, here we go, it’s going to hurt, but 90 minute drive back and not even have a go? Nu ah. We are going in. Yep, more IN the water again than on it. But I did do more than the others there, got to the other side to try speed runs against the eastern bank, but too strong. Fast but. I had a old Slalom Areotech 4.5 on with the olde Speed 8’8″, and a 30cm straight fin, like I say, OLDE type gear! Weed strands- ow, buggerisations on two reaches. Fearsome at 70° to the wind, at a reach, CHERIST, and off, DID not want to do it. The others had smaller sails, I see why. At least I got across the channel a few times! IMAG0619_resize This was the only kite sailor there.  I managed to get back for a break swallowing too much water…  Next run, too hard again, a reach was extremely fast and dangerous with my fitness level of shiteness. Saw that the pool was in use- too shallow with the weed as well? NAh, let’s go man!  Okay, shells underfoot, shallow, weed, bugger, but do-able. One guy was into it anyway, so here we go. SandyPointEasterlyBadNewsDayForMe…. The other bastard [stitched pic], man it was blowin’ 30knots! IMAG0623_stitch Anyway, the whole day sucked as I was so overpowered. More sails next trip. I had to neurophene myself I ached so bad when I managed to steer the van home [early…], I could hardly watch TV!

About tone

Widowed exRigPigGeo 50yr old dad of 4 'teens', is doin' job raisin' kids, misses a lot of things. Family (close and extended) and Friends - an important part in our of life. Likes gadgets, speedsailing, reading (SF), geology/archeology, maps. Coffee monster- burnt out one espresso maker too many. Have to have plenty spare "moccona" in cupboard. Things I miss- Tarn. The rig life and income. A lot of sailing. Tarn.
This entry was posted in Tone-in-oz, Just Doing It Anyway and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

