No Monel Collar Forests Discovered yet

The OilPatch legacy

What do you think I mean?

I have been on over 150 oil and gas drilling projects over a career of eighteen years.

During that time, mishaps occurred that involved leaving some drilling pipe components “down the hole” that were not that funny if they involved a radio-isotope lost as well. Not many of those to report in my own experience, but.

That is, “You know, it’s lost buddy, you got it wrong, start again.”

Since I first started in the Patch, I have never heard of any fossilised drilling equipment being found.

I mean, I have seen petrified forests from 300 million years ago being found, eroded from softer formations, I even have some rocks of petrified wood in my collection.

But my imagination for the far far future involves an intelligence seeing evidence of metallic residues in rock at the surface of some new continent. Maybe plastics too.

Or ,widely separated, a forest of monels or casings…

About tone

Widowed exRigPigGeo 50yr old dad of 4 'teens', is doin' job raisin' kids, misses a lot of things. Family (close and extended) and Friends - an important part in our of life. Likes gadgets, speedsailing, reading (SF), geology/archeology, maps. Coffee monster- burnt out one espresso maker too many. Have to have plenty spare "moccona" in cupboard. Things I miss- Tarn. The rig life and income. A lot of sailing. Tarn.
This entry was posted in Geology, Tone-in-oz, Just Doing It Anyway and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

