Bigger n Better

Bigger n Better

Today, after a week of severe procrastination, took some new toys to the water.

Before my last hitch out west, thought I would visit a newish boardsailing shoppe in the Big Smoke, actually on the beach- The Zu, on the way to a plane. Elwood was just too far away that day, sorry Wooz.

The Zu is not my usual hangout for a bargain, in fact, my first time there. A bloke  Ivan and company been there a while but I gotta give ’em a chance and I was running out of time for de plane de plane de plane…

Short backstory- Ivan had been on a course  for sailboarding instructing with me late in 1999 when I was searching for something sporty rather than be in the oilpatch, and twins coming… well, there was a downturn, last on first off etc.

Anyway, being an expert sailboard instructor got me some summer sailing in with RPS and one of their other competitors, so can’t complain- made the old motorbike earn its keep Sale to Port Philip every weegen!

OI!

Back at the ZU the other day- Ivan was on tour or something, but Paul was in that day so Paul showed me a coupla fings…. So I left a deposit on a nu board and almost nu sail…

Five weeks later, today, got ’em Wet

IMAG4577_resizeIMAG4581_resize

A Severne 7.8 and Starboard 110l with a 44cm fin.

Noice ay!? Pity that the wind never cooperated! Not a sausage or white cap, bloody fresh water sucks you in and and and maybe and yeah, nuthin. Argh. Not over 8 knots ! Not enough for these baddies!

Ready for bears

On Sandy Point’s Shallow Inlet speed run anyway… With 6.5, 7.3 and the 7.8, yes! And together with a 5.0, 5.8 and the 6.5 on the 90l, should vae the next summer season covered, and the next too.

The new gear these days is just soo much better than the Nineties stuff, which was so much better on the eighties stuff, it is awesome gear in my hands now that I am back in control of my life. I think. I hope!

But may need to get a three seat van. The two seater is a problem with only two kidlywinks at home now!

Also got a weather station and new laptop so that can monitor myself better, and for others too. the lappy has both GPSResults and Cumulus winter blast 4on it, very methodicalized… See tracks of last session at Sandy here and example weather station results

 

sandy pt sep  14[new laptop cos dang kids {& hid my} damaged netbook away… spose ya gotta larf.]

After this weekend hopefully [after dentist, MS doc, tax guys and super guys all have a go at me etc] can enjoy life to full pace.

About tone

Widowed exRigPigGeo 50yr old dad of 4 'teens', is doin' job raisin' kids, misses a lot of things. Family (close and extended) and Friends - an important part in our of life. Likes gadgets, speedsailing, reading (SF), geology/archeology, maps. Coffee monster- burnt out one espresso maker too many. Have to have plenty spare "moccona" in cupboard. Things I miss- Tarn. The rig life and income. A lot of sailing. Tarn.
This entry was posted in Speedsailing, Tone-in-oz, Just Doing It Anyway and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bigger n Better

Leave a Reply

