wet twice in two months

In regards to speedsailing

I have driven about 2000 kilometers since I got home from the last job, just to go speedsailing. But I have been Marvined!

There was a short sail with the new speed board at Shallow Inlet, Sandy Point the first week, then about half an hour the other week at Swan Bay near Queenscliff with my Big board. There has been a trip the other side of a nearby lake where a 4WD track tried to take the engine out of the van, a few other side trips to check a site out- and was warned that Hollands Landing is CRAP- I do not think so, not so much if there is two parties along for a sail either side of the channel! The salty water is slowly getr rid of vegetation either side of the east end of the channel- better wind!

In between these two dates July 24 and October 13, there was a geologically inclined oriented field trip to the southern Sydney basin, to see the Hawkesbury SST and coal outcrops along the coast. Just so happened to drag some boards and sails along. They did not get wet, but I sure enjoyed the trip, especially the SeaBridge at Coalcliff, north ofseabridge Coalcliff NSW Wollongong- was going to see the gas fields around Camden, but, ran out of time- kids…

The price of diesel is cheap- I mean to go to the movies- that’s fifteen bucks for an hour and a half or maybe two.

The van gets 10 liters per 100 kilometers. About. At $1.20-1.50 a liter- thats about 15 bucks an hour driving.

Cheaper than going to the movies. If you like driving… I must!

If I cannot do more than 3 hours on the water per month I may as well sell all my newly bought speedsailing gear! Any Offers? There would be about twenty grands’ worth to get rid of (well- to replace If I Lost the gear!), some a bit worn, some with the price stickers nearly coming off… some with great memories and some with none yet!

Nah, joking. Just wish my favourite spot was so much closer! If I was fitter I would probably get out there what ever the wind was doing [might need an old racing board to satisfy that itch] and- might be persuaded to get a SUP board too.

So I am just doing it anyway- with MS I may not have too many years left to get out and fly across the water and enjoy one of my favourite hobbies.  If I can just stay upright more often it would be so much more fun too! There has been too much time In the water than On the water the last few years…

To get to 30 knots consistently is a goal, to reach 40 knots would be fantastic, to get even better means more and more time on the water. I should get a holiday place or a time-share closer to Sandy at some stage- or whenever the prodigies leave home for good. One day! Any old how, should stop whining and go cook up a barby hamburger with the WeberQ for the non vegan and me.

About tone

Widowed exRigPigGeo 50yr old dad of 4 'teens', is doin' job raisin' kids, misses a lot of things. Family (close and extended) and Friends - an important part in our of life. Likes gadgets, speedsailing, reading (SF), geology/archeology, maps. Coffee monster- burnt out one espresso maker too many. Have to have plenty spare "moccona" in cupboard. Things I miss- Tarn. The rig life and income. A lot of sailing. Tarn.
This entry was posted in Hobbies, Just Doing It Anyway, Speedsailing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

